F1, what is F1? To me it's a pinnacle of automotive engineering. Engineers don't just think outside the box. They tear it up. Certain rules and regulation are set by the FIA so that engineers are forced to develop new technology. Such as banning traction control, anti lock brakes, variable valve timing, force induction so on and so forth.
That is F1 to me. Well, 10 years ago. Now F1 is just a big business. Teams against teams. What I mean here is, Red Bull. It's an energy drink. It has nothing to do with Racing. Torro Rosso, what is that? Virgin Racing, Hispania Racing Team. What is this? These teams are using Renault and Cosworth engines. They don't develop their own. This is not F1.
Back when I started watching F1 around 10 years ago. Most of the teams are car manufacturers. Peugeot, Ferrari, McLaren, BMW, Honda, Toyota. Only some teams are just mere 'teams'.
Maybe some thought McLaren didn't build their own engine. That's true. They only build one recently for their road going car. The MP4-12C (what a name) MP4 is their codename for McLaren F1 cars. I think they did build their own engine decades ago.
Lotus. It's like a custom for them to use other engines. Even road going Lotus cars. At the moment, Toyota is the main engine supplier for Lotus. The latest Evora is powered by a 3.5 litre V6 from Toyota Camry. Tuned of course. Another interesting facts about Lotus Racing. They always come, (or came in this case) with new and simple technology. Such as a side skirting and radio communication between the driver and pit crew. Side skirting. It's design to stop the air from either side of the car disrupting a continuous low pressure airflow underneath the car.
Why I use the word 'came out'. Usually it's Lotus will came out with brilliant ideas. Now Lotus is still 'new'. Further more, rules and regulations are strict. In every aspect. Body building, wings, aerodynamics, engine, ECU etc. I hope Lotus is the same as before.
Rumours has it that the FIA decided to decrease the F1 engines, remove a few cylinders, lower revs and turbocharged. I hope it's true. The reason for this is to produce lower the emissions and lower fuel consumptions. Since global warming has gain huge 'popularity' nowadays.
Anyway, I may have gone off topic here. The conclusion here is, F1 now is frustrating in terms of technology. I hope the future of motor sports improve where manufacturers race against each other rather than teams.
Tuesday, May 18, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment